LS polls: 857 polling stations, 87 companies of paramilitary forces, 4000 police deployed in outer Manipur for 2nd phase elections

Apr 24, 2024

Imphal (Manipur) [India], April 25 : In view of the second phase of the election slated for April 26, as many as 857 polling stations, 87 companies of paramilitary forces and more than 4000 state police have been deployed in outer Manipur.
While speaking to ANI, Chief Electoral Officer Pradeep Kumar Jha said that the second phase of the election has a total of 857 polling stations including 9 special polling stations. 87 companies of centre paramilitary forces and more than 4000 state police forces have also been deployed to ensure free and fair elections.
He further said that 191 polling stations shall be exclusively managed by women polling personnel.
After incidents of violence during polling in the opening phase of the Lok Sabha elections on April 19, bringing back grim memories of the ethnic clashes that claimed many lives and displaced scores more, the Manipur will have a tryst with democracy again on April 26.
While the Inner Manipur constituency, which is inhabited by the majority Meiteis, polled in the first phase on April 19, parts of Outer Manipur, too, voted to elect its Lok Sabha representative in the opening phase. The remaining parts of Outer Manipur will poll in the second phase on April 26.
While there is no official word on the rationale behind holding the polls in Outer Manipur in both phases, it is believed that the decision was taken after assessing security concerns in the violence-hit state.
Earlier, re-polling was held in 11 polling stations of the Inner Manipur constituency on April 22, after multiple incidents of violence were reported during the first phase of polling on April 19. Unidentified miscreants opened fire and even destroyed EVMs, according to sources.
The re-polling was done under tight security to avoid any mishaps.
Among the affected polling stations; two were from Khurai assembly constituency, four in Kshetrigao, one in Thongju, three in Uripok, and one in Konthoujam constituency.
The constituency of Outer Manipur is currently held by Lorho Phoze of the Naga People Front.
This time, however, the NPF is going into the polls as a partner in the BJP-led NDA. The BJP, earlier, announced its support for NPF candidate for Outer Manipur, Kachui Timothy Zimik.
Zimik is up against Congress MLA Alfred K Arthur, who is the joint Opposition candidate of the INDIA bloc.
Manipur saw a voter turnout of over 69 per cent on April 19.
The voting for the remaining 13 segments of Outer Manipur will be held in the second phase on April 26. The counting of votes will be held on June 4.