Odisha CM Majhi pays tribute to prominent historical figures

Jun 14, 2024

Bhubaneswar (Odisha) [India] June 14 : Odisha Chief Minister Mohan Charan Majhi, accompanied by Deputy Chief Ministers KV Singh Deo and Prabhati Parida, honoured the contributions of three notable figures in Indian history by paying floral tributes at their statues in the state capital.
The ceremony began with a tribute to Dr. Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar, a pivotal figure in India's history.
The event also commemorated Jayakrushna Rajguru Mahapatra, a revered freedom fighter and the first martyr from Odisha in the fight against British colonial rule.
Additionally, the tribute was extended to Maharaja Sir Rajendra Narayan Singh Deo, who was a prominent political leader and served as the Chief Minister of Odisha from 1967 to 1971.
Earlier on Wednesday, Mohan Charan Majhi took oath as the Chief Minister of the first Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government in Odisha, in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The ceremony at Janata Maidan in Bhubaneshwar also saw the swearing-in of Deputy Chief Ministers Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo and Pravati Parida, administered by Odisha Governor Raghubar Das.